This post starts with the following HubPage - read it first and then come back here for the full reveal:
Using whois to find out who is spamming you
OK if you didn’t go there you notice that the domain they are trying to send you to is different from the one they pretend you would go to. For example if you click on the yahoo link blow you’ll go to google:
http://yahoo.com
The code for those who understand HTML is:
<a title=”Pretends to be one site while sending you to another.” href=”http://google.com” target=”_blank”>http://yahoo.com</a>
The href=”xxxx” will send you to xxxx domain. whatever comes before</a> is what is displayed.
Anyway, so I received this spam pretending to be from an Australian media firm. It was not phishing
and I assume it sends you shopping (but it could be something real dangerous - worms, viruses or anything is possible.
I ran the whois on one of the sites the email was trying to send me too and here’s the result:
Domain ID:D3579342-AFIN
Domain Name:THELIKELIVE.IN
Created On:24-Apr-2009 13:48:48 UTC
Last Updated On:24-Apr-2009 13:48:49 UTC
Expiration Date:24-Apr-2010 13:48:48 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Visesh Infotecnics Ltd. (R42-AFIN)
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:DI_9759019
Registrant Name:Anton Nikiforov
Registrant Organization:Anton Nikiforov
Registrant Street1:Smolnaya str. d.21 kv.360
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Moscow
Registrant State/Province:Moscow
Registrant Postal Code:125445
Registrant Country:RU
Registrant Phone:+7.4957412992
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:+7.4957412992
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:
Admin ID:DI_9759019
Admin Name:Anton Nikiforov
Admin Organization:Anton Nikiforov
Admin Street1:Smolnaya str. d.21 kv.360
Admin Street2:
Admin Street3:
Admin City:Moscow
Admin State/Province:Moscow
Admin Postal Code:125445
Admin Country:RU
Admin Phone:+7.4957412992
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:+7.4957412992
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email:
Tech ID:DI_9759019
Tech Name:Anton Nikiforov
Tech Organization:Anton Nikiforov
Tech Street1:Smolnaya str. d.21 kv.360
Tech Street2:
Tech Street3:
Tech City:Moscow
Tech State/Province:Moscow
Tech Postal Code:125445
Tech Country:RU
Tech Phone:+7.4957412992
Tech Phone Ext.:
Tech FAX:+7.4957412992
Tech FAX Ext.:
Tech Email:
Name Server:NS1.11DNSAVAILABLE.COM
Name Server:NS2.HOSTAPOTHECARY.COM
So where they are pretending to send you is Australia, they try to send you was an Indian domain, the spammer lives in Moscow, Russia with an email in Autria. By the way the email itself pretended to come from Leopoldo Mayes [etoopi@bowjazz.com] note bowjazz.com is a perfectly reasonable domain registered by godaddy.
So basically note the spammers and email scammers do it all with smoke and mirrors and you just have to be careful. Do not click on links in emails unless you know who they come from and you know you are not redirected.
You can actually use javascript to make the status show the wrong pretend site. So use good anti-phishing and anti-virus software.
Free Shipping on Continental US Orders over $50–Use Coupon Code DAS926M, exp 05.31.09

Low cost domain registration. Buy one domain, get one free!

Unlimited Domain Hosting Only $9.95 a Month
Post Footer automatically generated by Add Post Footer Plugin for wordpress.